Recording for a room is enabled when a room is created. In the dashboard, you can select "Local" or "Cloud" recording.

  • Local recording saves the finished recording as a .webm file on the user's computer. Learn more about transcoding here.
  • Cloud recordings uploads the recording to your Daily.co account while a meeting is in progress and requires additional upstream bandwidth.
  • Once a recording mode is selected, it cannot be changed in the dashboard. If you need to change the recording mode, delete and re-create the room.

To create a room with recording enabled:

  • Open the Rooms tab and click the Create Room button
  • select the recording mode you want to enable:

To learn more about creating a room, go to Creating and Viewing rooms

Did this answer your question?