"Always-on" is a video portal between TVs. It's easy to set up with our Daily.co TV hardware.  

  • 1.0: How always-on works, with Daily.co TV
  • 2.0: Use the TV to join a meeting other than the portal 
  • 3.0: Tell the TV to rejoin the portal  

To lock your TV to the portal (and prevent it from joining other calls), see this page.


1.0: How always-on works, with Daily.co TV 

  1. Plug in the device. (Make sure the TV is on the right HDMI.)
  2. After booting and a countdown, the TV auto-loads the portal. 

Don't do anything. Don't type or click, during the countdown: 

  • After it boots, the TV shows the countdown, loading message below. This is a heads-up that the TV is joining the always-on portal. 
  • The loading screen also is a chance to tell the TV to skip joining your portal, and join another meeting instead.
  • If you do not want your TV to be able to join another call, email us. We can hide the TV screen code that lets users put the TV into a non-portal meeting link. Learn more here.

Just plug in your box. It boots, and your TV then shows a countdown.

Don't type or click! Your TV will auto-join the portal, after the countdown.


2.0: Use your always-on device for other video calls 

You can use your always-on system for other video calls. 

A.  Do you have another Daily.co link ready to join? 

  • Click the meeting link you'd like to join on your computer or phone 
  • Select the "Control a Daily.co TV" option, and enter the screen code that's up on your TV. You're telling the TV to leave the always-on, and go to the new link. See section 1 in this help article for detailed steps. 
  • When you're done, and want the TV to go back to the always-on, see 4.0 below. 

B. Do you not have another Daily.co link ready to join? The TV can create a link for you:

  • See Section 2 on this help article.  Basically: 
  • In a browser, go to tv.daily.co 
  • Enter the TV code, which is shown in the lower right corner of your TV screen. Your code is a 6-letter string shown in in the Control this TV box. 
  • In your browser, then click Start a new call. Again, see section 2 here
  • To leave the call, and go back to the always-on, see 4.0 below. 


3.0 Screen sharing with your TV 

You have two options — first, you can screen share in your always-on meeting room. That means everyone in the always-on will see the screen share. Learn how to screen share here, https://help.daily.co/en/articles/1055384-wireless-screen-audio-presentations-to-your-daily-co-tv

Option 2:  you also can wirelessly present to the TV, but not have everyone in the always-on see it. 

  • What you'll do is simply join another call and screen share there. When you're done, the TV will automatically rejoin the portal for you. See section 2.0 above, B. 


4.0: Put your TV back in the portal

Let's say you've used your portal for another call. To have the TV rejoin your always-on portal, you need to open our TV controller in a web browser — like Chrome — on your computer or mobile phone.

What is the TV controller? I do not have it open.

  • Go to https://tv.daily.co on your computer or phone 
  • Enter the TV screen code shown in the bottom. See section 2 screen shots
  • Click Leave call 
  • DON'T DO ANYTHING ELSE. Don't type. Don't click. Once you click leave call, the TV will show a countdown and auto-rejoin it's portal. 

I have the TV controller page open. 

  • If you already have the TV controller open, from when you joined your previous call.lick Leave call.
  • DON'T DO ANYTHING ELSE. Don't type. Don't click. Once you click leave call, the TV will show a countdown and auto-rejoin it's portal. 

Click leave call, in your web controller 

Remember: you can stop your a Daily.co TV that is configured as an always-on portal from being used for other video calls. Just email us. See all of the custom options for Daily.co TV's.

Email help@daily.co anytime. Chat with us M–F, 9am–5pm PST.

Did this answer your question?